Jump to content

Last Title by Town, Winter 2016

The Gipper

Recommended Posts

Now that theSuper Bowl for the 2015 Football season has been played , here is the last year that each major league city won a professional sports championship, or for those markets with no titles, the year they first had a major sports franchise there. In other words, it tells how long each area has been waiting for a title. This includes NHL/WHA, NBA/ABA, NFL/AFL/AAFC, and MLB:

2015 Denver (Broncos NFL)

2015 Kansas City (Royals MLB)

2015 San Fran/Oakland/San Jose (Warriors NBA

2015 Chicago (Blackhawks NHL)

2014 Boston/New England (Patriots NFL)

2014 San Antonio (Spurs NBA)

2014 Los Angeles (Kings NHL)

2013 Seattle (Seahawks NFL)

2013 Miami (Heat NBA)
2012 Baltimore (Ravens NFL
2011 New York/New Jersey (Giants NFL)
2011 St. Louis (Cardinals MLB)
2011 Dallas/Ft. Worth (Mavericks NBA)
2010 Green Bay (Packers NFL)
2009 New Orleans (Saints NFL)
2009 Pittsburgh (Penguins NHL)
2008 Oklahoma City, no titles, year the "Thunder" began play.
2008 Philadelphia (Phillies MLB)
2008 Detroit (Redwings NHL)
2006 Indianapolis (Colts NFL)
2006 Raleigh (Hurricane NHL)
2004 Tampa/St. Pete (Lightning NHL)
2001 Phoenix (Diamondbacks MLB)
2001 Memphis, no titles, first year "Grizzlies" played there

2000 Columbus, no titles, first year "Bluejackets" began play
1997 Nashville, no titles, first year "Titans" played there
1995 Houston (Rockets NBA)
1995 Jacksonville, no titles, first year "Jaguars" began play
1995 Atlanta (Braves MLB)
1993 Toronto (Blue Jays MLB)
1993 Montreal (Canadiennes NHL)
1992 Washington D.C. (Redskins NFL)
1991 Minneapolis/St. Paul (Twins MLB)
1990 Cincinnati (Reds MLB)
1990 Edmonton (Oilers NHL)
1989 Calgary (Flames NHL)
1989 Orlando, no titles, first year "Magic" played there
1988 Charlotte, no titles, first year "Hornets" played there
1985 Sacramento, no titles, first year "Kings" played there
1979 Winnipeg (Jets, WHA)
1977 Portland (Blazers NBA)
1971 Milwaukee (Bucks NBA)
1971 Salt Lake City (Stars ABA)
1965 Buffalo (Bills AFL)
1964 Cleveland (Browns NFL)
1963 San Diego (Chargers AFL)
1927 Ottawa (Senators NHL)
1915 Vancouver (Millionaires, Stanley Cup)

Note the gap....that is the 'half way point" There are 48 cities. 24 of them have won since 2000, 24 have not won since prior to 2000 (except for the 2 new citiesm Memphis and OK city.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The only city that has really "moved on up" lately was Kansas City when the Royals won the World Series a few months ago.

They had been holding since 1985. Before that Seattle moved up with the Seahawks title. They had gone since 1979...


but, of course, it is still those stuck in the 60s: Cleveland/Buffalo/San Diego not to mention the hockey only Canadian cities.


These cities had their chances. Of course we know about the Cavs...and the 1997 Indians, two outs away. Buffalo, a missed FG away. SD has never really come that close. Vancouver had a 3-2 lead in the NHL finals and blew it a few years ago.


Can the Cavs do the deed?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...