Jump to content

New High School Division and Regional Alignments

Recommended Posts

The OHSAA approved and announced the new division and regional alignments today for the upcoming 2009 high school football season.


Who moved up? Who moved down? Where's your school at? Read on to find out...




COLUMBUS, Ohio – The OHSAA reassigns schools to divisions every other year, and changes in football resulted in 117 schools (16.3 percent) making divisional changes for 2009 and 2010 from the last two years. The changes were approved Thursday by the OHSAA’s Board of Directors at their May meeting.


There are 718 football-playing schools this year, which is up three from 2007 (Hilliard Bradley, Lewis Center Olentangy Orange, Manchester). The division breakdowns for 2009 are: Division I – 120 schools (enrollments of 518 or more); Division II – 118 schools (enrollments between 348 and 517); Division III – 120 schools (enrollments between 252 and 347); Division IV – 119 schools (enrollments between 177 and 251); Division V – 120 schools (enrollments between 125 and 176); and Division VI – 121 schools (enrollments of 124 or less). Divisions are based on enrollment of males in grades nine through 11 as reported to the State Department of Education in October 2008.


Thirty-four (17.8 percent) schools that are changing divisions qualified for the football tournaments last year, including defending Division II state champion Sylvania Southview (moves up to Division I); defending Division III state champion Aurora (moves up to Division II); 2007 Division II state champion and defending Division II state runner-up Cincinnati Anderson (moves up to Division I); and defending Division IV state runner-up Steubenville (moves up to Division III).


Other notable schools changing divisions are 2004 Division I state champion Columbus Brookhaven (moves down to Division II); 2007 Division III state champion Sunbury Big Walnut (moves up to Division II); three-time state champion Columbus St. Francis DeSales (moves down to Division III); and two-time state champion Coldwater (moves down to Division V).


Ohio’s 718 football schools are distributed as evenly as possible among 24 regions. Of note, it is the OHSAA’s policy to keep same-division teams within the same county in the same region. For example, all 23 Division I football schools in Cuyahoga County (northeast Ohio) must be in the same region, which represents 23 of the 30 schools in Region 1.


All of the divisional changes are as follows (asterisk indicates 2008 playoff team):


Moved from Division II to I (12 schools) – Cincinnati Anderson*, Cincinnati Withrow, Columbus Northland, Columbus West, East Cleveland Shaw, Franklin Heights, Mayfield*, Oregon Clay, Powell Olentangy Liberty*, Sylvania Southview*, Toledo Waite, Whitehouse Anthony Wayne


Moved from Division I to II (seven schools) – Akron Garfield, Batavia Amelia, Bedford, Columbus Brookhaven*, Harrison, Lorain Southview, Mansfield Senior


Moved from Division III to II (17 schools) – Aurora*, Avon*, Canal Winchester*, Canton South*, Chesterland West Geauga, Columbus Mifflin, Cuyahoga Falls Walsh Jesuit*, Lewis Center Olentangy Orange, Mentor Lake Catholic, New Philadelphia*, Norwalk, Painesville Harvey, The Plains Athens, Ravenna, Rocky River, Sunbury Big Walnut*, Vincent Warren


Moved from Division II to III (13 schools) – Akron Archbishop Hoban*, Akron Buchtel, Akron Springfield, Alliance, Bellbrook, Celina, Cleveland East Technical, Columbus Bishop Watterson*, Columbus St. Francis DeSales*, Dayton Dunbar*, Jackson, Parma Padua Franciscan*, Toledo Libbey


Moved from Division IV to III (15 schools) – Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, Bellefontaine Benjamin Logan, Bethel-Tate, Cincinnati Wyoming, Dayton Oakwood, Gallipolis Gallia Academy, New Lexington, North Bend Taylor, Oak Harbor, Pataskala Licking Heights, St. Bernard Roger Bacon, Steubenville*, Waverly, Youngstown Cardinal Mooney*, Zanesville Maysville


Moved from Division II to IV (two schools) – Cincinnati Taft, Dayton Thurgood Marshall


Moved from Division III to IV (10 schools) – Cortland Lakeview, Fairview Park Fairview, Youngstown Liberty*, Chagrin Falls*, Rossford, Van Wert, Kenton, Lancaster Fairfield Union, Germantown Valley View*, Lewistown Indian Lake


Moved from Division V to IV (11 schools) – Johnstown-Monroe*, Heath, Creston Norwayne*, Andover Pymatuning Valley, Atwater Waterloo, Cleveland Central Catholic, Portsmouth West*, Reading, Waynesville*, Cincinnati Purcell Marian, Cincinnati Shroder


Moved from Division IV to V (eight schools) – Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph, Burton Berkshire, Hanoverton United, Coldwater*, Delta, Hamilton Badin*, Jamestown Greeneview, Cincinnati Mariemont


Moved from Division VI to V (12 schools) – Sugar Grove Berne Union, Columbus Africentric Early College, Caldwell*, New Middletown Springfield, East Canton*, Harrod Allen East, Haviland Wayne Trace, Plymouth, Mt. Blanchard Riverdale*, Manchester, Mechanicsburg*, Cincinnati Summit Country Day


Moved from Division V to VI (10 schools) – Morral Ridgedale, Bedford St. Peter Chanel, Rittman, Vienna Mathews, Sycamore Mohawk, Maria Stein Marion Local*, Toledo Ottawa Hills, Bucyrus Wynford*, New Paris National Trail, Arcanum


NOTE – Hilliard Bradley, a new school opening in 2009, will be added later once its enrollment has been determined (no later than Sept. 10).


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...