THE BROWNS BOARD

Ryan's defense

Canton Mike

Maybe I'm naive, but I am PLEASED!

1) 37 sacks as opposed to 17 last year (FAR more aggressive play!)

2) As stated in another post, far better tackling & fewer penalties

Those are just a couple things I have noticed.

IMHO, while we would like more, if we can add a shutdown corner & a playmaking safety, we rise SIGNIFICANTLY in defense ranking in the NFL. Sure, we can use players elsewhere on D, but those 2 spots COULD be filled this postseason & would make a big difference combined with our improved pressure on opposing QBs.

Stats don't always tell the whole story.

Just my opinion & observations (I am no expert...just a fan who cares).

Mike

Yes, we have more sacks... but our D is still bottom of the leauge. We still get shredded by QB's, not matter who it is.. two worst examples being a rookie stafford for almost 500 yards, and frye last week for 333.. i'm sorry, but that is inexcusable. I don't have numbers to back it up (mainly because I'm to lazy to get the stat), but I feel our run D has slightly improved, but our pass D is just as bad, if not worse than last year.. Yes, we have more sacks, but far few interceptions than previous years. Our D did not produce hardly enough turnovers this year. I almost feel like our D in recent weeks has played just like the past... bend but don't break (minus kc, they pretty much were broke all game). I'm not sure if they have a stat for this, but I feel a great defensive stat would be 3 and outs.... I'm still right on the fence with Ryan... he looks the part, but I just don't know if he plays the part.. I mean, what did he really do in Oakland??? Go Browns

As far as season stats go and our team being ranked the lowest in many categories, I don't think that it all falls on them. How many games earlier this season was our defense on the field for over 40 minutes of the game? That'll lead to some skewed stats, and it's more the offense sucking it up than the defense.