THE BROWNS BOARD

May 4th, 1970

So I am a freshman at KSU and this is my first time going to all of the memorial ceremonies and such. Very eerie but also a very special time. We had a ton of guest speakers today and the commemorations will go on all day.

Just some thoughts on the event that took placed 40 years ago.

Your thoughts?

They weren't forced to shoot. They had control over the trigger.

That is one slant. The other slant is people should have quit throwing objects and stopped to proceed forward when asked to do so.

Sorry man, if the man with the gun tells me to stop, I am going to stop, and leave.

It is an American tragedy no doubt......but it is so on several different levels.

radical students, some who weren't even Kent students, brought in burlap

bags of rocks.

They were throwing rocks and advancing on the Guardsmen.

Warning shots were fired, some students got killed in different areas of the commons.

Some were injured.

All sorts of students were looking for serious trouble, even if they had to force it to happen.

Like, we were walking off campus right after those shootings, and two big long hairs were trying to

intimidate a young lone Guardsman guarding some trucks and jeeps. They were bumping into him,

getting in his face, and tried to put some gravel and a flower down his rifle barrel.

All this while the young Guardsman stayed still, at attention.

Right before the long hairs would have put the stuff into his barrel of his rifle....

my best friend and I started to go across the lane to help him.

But he wheeled his rifle around and pointed it at them.

They backed off fast.

Word on the campus was, that whoever had a camera with them, would be taken for a Fed,

and would get hurt.

The same word went out a year later for May 4th rallies.

You don't know diddley. I was there. It was not a "special time".

The hippies were completely dangerous and out of control, and that was BEFORE

we went into sociology class.