THE BROWNS BOARD

Musings from Jason J

hoorta

The man very rarely posts anywhere- and it's been a good year or two since he's posted here- but when he's got something to say, it's worth listening to. And that would especially be you, defenders of Mr Harrison.

So with his permission, here's a few reprints from another board for your enlightenment.

Jason J...

"...if people die playing, thats the risk they take."

Really??!!!?? Die?? That's OK with you? We're talking about a dead human being here.

I'm sure... or at least, I hope there's some hyperbole there. But this ridiculous video game sensitivity to violence (or lack thereof to be more accurate) is really disturbing. And that's the word for it... disturbing. What you wrote was one of the most unsettling things I've read about football in recent memory. And that's no exaggeration. I honestly never wanted to believe that people thought like that.

I've been coaching this game for 20 years. And there is a right way and a wrong way to teach the physical part of the game. And please don't get me wrong, pain and intimidation are part of that formula. But there always has to be an eye on the preservation of self and the preservation of the game.

The trouble is, when the stakes increase, players are far more apt to ignore their own safety and the safety of others. We have to stop rewarding that behavior. In fact, we have to punish it... for the preservation of the sport.

And removing the pads is not the answer. You provide them with the best equipment you can and set very specific rules with harsh enforcement.

You can not allow players to tackle with the shell of their helmet.

You can not allow players to make violent contact to the head.