Jump to content

Last Title by Town

The Gipper

Recommended Posts

With the San Francisco Giants winning the World Series last night here are the last years in which each "Major League" market has won a professional team title in the 4 major sports: football, baseball, basketball, hockey. For "Major League" I also count titles that were won in leagues that have merged with the current leagues, such as the AFL or the ABA. I also include those markets that have never won a title and note the first year they had a major league team in a sport. Single markets such as SF/Oak/San Jose, LA/Anaheim, NY/NJ are combined with the exception of Baltimore and Washington. Football is included in the year of the regular season, not the year the SB was played. Here is the list:


2010 San Francisco/Oakland/San Jose Giants MLB (last previous title was the 49ers 1994 title)

2010 LA/Anaheim Lakers NBA

2010 Chicago Blackhawks NHL

2009 New Orleans Saints NFL

2009 New York/NJ Yankees MLB

2009 Pittsburg Penguins NHL

2008 Oklahoma City not titles, year of origin of The Thunder

2008 Philadelphia Phillies MLB

2008 Boston Celtics NBA

2008 Detroit Redwings NHL

2007 San Antonio Spurs NBA

2006 Indianapolis Colts NFL

2006 St. Louis Cardinals MLB

2006 Raleigh Hurricane NHL

2006 Miami Heat NBA

2004 Tampa Bay Lightning NHL

2001 Phoenix/Ariz. Diamondback MLB

2001 Denver Avalanche NHL

2001 Memphis no titles, year Grizzlies first played there

2000 Baltimore Raven NFL

2000 Columbus no titles, year of origin of Bluejackets

1999 Dallas Stars NHL

1997 Nashville/Tenn no titles, first year Titans played there

1996 Green Bay Packers NFL

1995 Houston Rockets NBA

1995 Atlanta Braves MLB

1995 Jacksonville no titles year of origin of Jaguars

1993 Toronto Blue Jays MLB

1993 Montreal Canadiennes NHL

1992 Washington D.C. Redskins NFL

1991 Minneapolis/St. Paul Twins MLB

1990 Cincinnati Reds MLB

1990 Edmonton Oilers NHL

1989 Calgary Flames NHL

1989 Orlando no titles year of origin of Magic

1988 Charlotte no titles year of origin of Hornets (since moved)

1985 Kansas City Royals MLB

1985 Sacramento no titles, first year Kings played there

1979 Seattle Sonics NBA (franchise currently inactive)

1977 Portland Trailblazers NBA

1971 Milwaukee Bucks NBA

1971 Salt Lake City Stars ABA

1965 Buffalo Bills NFL

1964 Cleveland Browns NFL

1963 San Diego Charger AFL

1927 Ottawa Senators NHL (prior franchise)

1915 Vancouver Millionaires Stanley Cup

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The title won by the Giants last night is the 14th Championship in the 4 major sports won by teams from the SF/Oak/SJ area. Here they are:


2010 San Fran Giants

1994 San Fran 49ers

1989 San Fran 49ers

1989 Oakland As

1988 San Fran 49ers

1984 San Fran 49ers

1981 San Fran 49ers

1980 Oakland Raiders

1976 Oakland Raiders

1975 Golden State Warriors

1974 Oakland As

1973 Oakland As

1972 Oakland As

1969 Oakland Oaks ABA


Link to comment
Share on other sites

True as far as geographic area, but I doubt you'll find any 49'ers and Raiders fans who will eve claim to be from the same planet, much less the same area. :)



Sure, but that is sort of a choice they have to make, isn't it. I am sure you might say the same about the Giants and Jets, and hell, they play in the same stadium!

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...