THE BROWNS BOARD

Gas Prices

VaporTrail

When pollsters ask Republicans and Democrats whether the president can do anything about high gas prices, the answers reflect the usual partisan divisions in the country. About two-thirds of Republicans say the president can do something about high gas prices, and about two-thirds of Democrats say he can't.

But six years ago, with a Republican president in the White House, the numbers were reversed: Three-fourths of Democrats said President Bush could do something about high gas prices, while the majority of Republicans said gas prices were clearly outside the president's control.

Source: http://www.npr.org/blogs/itsallpolitics/2012/05/09/152287372/partisan-psychology-why-are-people-partial-to-political-loyalties-over-facts

(I love NPR.)

Anyways, this is why a two-party system sucks. Discuss.

Vap, I've been saying this in here for 3 years. It's pathetic. Works both ways. Like f*cking high school kids in a clique.

So we'd be better off if, like greece we had dozens or hundreds of political parties?

Of course since the democrats railed against bush the oil baron I suppose it's sauce for the gander as well.

WSS

So we'd be better off if, like greece we had dozens or hundreds of political parties?

Of course since the democrats railed against bush the oil baron I suppose it's sauce for the gander as well.

WSS

Not what he is saying at all Steve. Making decisions, even life decision at the basic level, are based on party affiliation. I don't see you as one of the main culprits here, you know who you are.

WSS

Steve, that's exactly what I'm saying. Love how you love to use Greece as your go-to example. There are plenty of nations who have Parliamentary government, some are successful, others aren't. You could say the same thing about any other type of political system. Here's a list. Make of it what you will.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parliamentary_system#Countries_with_a_parliamentary_system_of_government