Jump to content

Last Title by Town Winter 2020

The Gipper

Recommended Posts

Now that the Super Bowl  has been played , here is the last year that each of the now 49 major league cities (or market areas) in the US and Canada won a professional sports championship, or for those markets with no titles, the year they first had a major sports franchise there. In other words, it tells how long each area has been waiting for a title. This includes NHL/WHA, NBA/ABA, NFL/AFL/AAFC, and MLB:

2019 Kansas City  (Chiefs  NFL)

2019 Washington  (Nationals MLB)

2019 Toronto  (Raptors NBA

2019 St. Louis  (Blues NHL)

2018 Boston/New England  (Patriots  NFL)

2018 San Fran/Oak/San Jose  (Warriors NBA

2017 Philadelphia  (Eagles NFL)

2017 Houston (Astros MLB)

2017 Las Vegas  (no titles, first year "Golden Knights" began play)

2017 Pittsburgh (Penguins NHL)

2016 Chicago (Cubs MLB)

2016 Cleveland (Cavaliers NBA)

2015 Denver (Broncos NFL)

2014 San Antonio (Spurs NBA)

2014 Los Angeles (Kings NHL)

2013 Seattle (Seahawks NFL)

2013 Miami (Heat NBA)
2012 Baltimore (Ravens NFL
2011 New York/New Jersey (Giants NFL)
2011 Dallas/Ft. Worth (Mavericks NBA)
2010 Green Bay (Packers NFL)
2009 New Orleans (Saints NFL)
2008 Oklahoma City, no titles, year the  Seattle Supersonics moved to become the "Thunder"
2008 Detroit (Redwings NHL)
2006 Indianapolis (Colts NFL)
2006 Raleigh (Hurricane NHL)
2004 Tampa/St. Pete (Lightning NHL)
2001 Phoenix (Diamondbacks MLB)
2001 Memphis, no titles, first year "Grizzlies" played there.

2000 Columbus, no titles, first year "Bluejackets" began play
1997 Nashville, no titles, first year "Titans" played there
1995 Jacksonville, no titles, first year "Jaguars" began play
1995 Atlanta (Braves MLB)
1993 Montreal (Canadiennes NHL)
1991 Minneapolis/St. Paul (Twins MLB)
1990 Cincinnati (Reds MLB)
1990 Edmonton (Oilers NHL)
1989 Calgary (Flames NHL)
1989 Orlando, no titles, first year "Magic" played there
1988 Charlotte, no titles, first year "Hornets" played there
1985 Sacramento, no titles, first year "Kings" played there
1979 Winnipeg (Jets, WHA)
1977 Portland (Blazers NBA)
1971 Milwaukee (Bucks NBA)
1971 Salt Lake City (Stars ABA)
1965 Buffalo (Bills AFL)
1963 San Diego (Chargers AFL)
1927 Ottawa (Senators NHL)
1915 Vancouver (Millionaires, Stanley Cup)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...