THE BROWNS BOARD

Well done, but took me to nite 3 to learn anything new.

If you are even slightly into the Civil War and have not read Shelby Foote's trilogy, then do your self a favor and read it. Shelby was the interesting grey beard commentator with the slow southern drawl in Ken Burns' PBS series. Shelby was a novelist by trade who spent 20 years of his life researching and writing this work. The result is a spectacular account of the conflict that is as engrossing as it is detailed.

• Thanks 1

9 hours ago, Tour2ma said:

If you are even slightly into the Civil War and have not read Shelby Foote's trilogy, then do your self a favor and read it. Shelby was the interesting grey beard commentator with the slow southern drawl in Ken Burns' PBS series. Shelby was a novelist by trade who spent 20 years of his life researching and writing this work. The result is a spectacular account of the conflict that is as engrossing as it is detailed.

Gotta agree..  I wish this had been a Ken Burns film.. I think it would've been much better... And Ken Burns would've made it a 3 hour movie instead of a mini series.. This was one of those topics that didn't need 3 nights to tell us basically what we already knew.. But I will check out the Shelby Foote series you suggested.. Good job on the general production.. But the guy playing Grant looked more like a Livery store owner dressed as a union soldier...

I had learned a lot from that outstanding documentary.  Grant was the first 3 star general. A master battlefield strategist who saved the union earned him the rank of Lieutenant General. Son of an abolitionist who became the first civil rights president. Buried in history imo.

Grant's bust would (should) be on Mt. Rushmore if it weren't for a guy named Lincoln.

21 hours ago, Tour2ma said: